SiteGround Review 2020: Why It Is The Best Fit For You!

Are you planning to buy web hosting for your WordPress site? Or looking for a good web hosting provider to migrate your website from your old hosting provider.

I must recommend you to go with the Siteground.

Not only me, 90% of people you asked the same question to will suggest you go with the Siteground.

I started using Siteground from November 2019, and it has been a good time of mine using Siteground hosting services.

So, I thought to combine all my good and bad experiences together and write an in-depth Siteground review which will help you to know why Siteground is a good fit for your WordPress site.

Before Siteground, my blogs were hosted on DigitalOcean. It was tough for me to manage everything by my hands.

DigitalOcean provides unmanaged cloud servers where you should have enough knowledge to use SSH.

I know how to use SSH and I’m still using DigitalOcean servers for testing purposes but it was very risky to host my main blog on DigitalOcean which generates my living.

So, I decided to move from there and started looking for the good web hosting provider for my WordPress blog.

After exploring all web hosting providers’ features, pricing and reviews from their users, I found Siteground the best fit for my WordPress blogs.

In this SiteGround review, I will share my experience and feedback about Siteground hosting after using it for months and also the SiteGround reviews by top bloggers and the users of SiteGround.

SiteGround Overview

SiteGround is the no.1 WordPress web hosting provider, it is founded in 2004 in Sofia, Bulgaria. It is servicing more than 2,000,000 domains worldwide.

It is officially recommended by the WordPress.org for the WordPress websites. I started using from November 2019 and I will share both the sides of SiteGround hosting, good and bad both in the SiteGround review.

It offers different types of hosting like shared hosting, WordPress hosting, cloud hosting and Woocommerce hosting.

SiteGround hosting is popular for their fast servers, excellent support system and for the features they provide at affordable price.

SiteGround guarantee reliable uptime of 99.99% and 24/7 support by their team of experts.

SiteGround users data centres on 3 continents and their server are located on:

  • Chicago, USA
  • Iowa, USA
  • London, UK
  • Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • Eemshaven, Netherlands
  • Singapore, Singapore

They also use Cloudflare CDN which helps in improving the loading time of website hosted with SiteGround and it expands its network to over 150 nodes in cities in the world.


SiteGround Speed Performance

Do you know speed is not a ranking factor?

You might not believe me…

You can watch this video to understand why I am saying this:


But I still recommend having a good loading speed.

Because a website which takes too long to load affect user experience and this is what Google deeply cares about.

Your visitors will not wait for your website to load completely, they will abandon your site instead which will increase your bounce rate and affect the ranking of your blog.

It is recommended to have loading speed under 3s. Hosting plays a very important role in a website’s good loading speed.

StayMeOnline’s loading speed was terrible when I was using DigitalOcean, I tried very hard to improve that but nothing worked.

After migrating to Siteground, I saw a huge improvement in loading speed.

You can see on the below image:

StayMeOnline Speed Optimization

Before using Siteground hosting, the loading speed was 7.7s which was terrible, but after using Siteground, it got increased to 1.6s(huge improvement) and the total page size also decreased from 1.16MB to 474KB.

Isn’t it an amazing loading speed?

They offer a caching plugin called “SG Optimizer” which is only for the website hosted with the Siteground hosting.

It also plays an important role in improving a website’s loading speed.

SiteGround offers Super Cacher technology, which is its in-house built technology that provides several layers of caching which result in improving your site loading speed.

SiteGround Server Response Time

Server Response Time(SRT) is the amount of time taken to load the HTML document from a server so a browser can start the rendering the page on the browser screen and then a visitor can see the site on the computer screen.

Website speed can be improved by various methods, so I decided to test the server response time instead of website loading speed to know how fast Siteground’s servers response…

Response time of a server is measured with what is known as Time to First Byte(TTFB).

Here is the result what I got by testing one of my websites hosted on SiteGround on Bitcatch tool:

siteground server response time

Overall, I can say that SiteGround will really help you in improving your loading speed.


SiteGround Pricing

Pricing matter a lot when you decide to buy a hosting for your website.

Especially with the beginners, when they plan to start their blog they look for a cheap web hosting provider for their new blog.

I have been asked my many beginners that is there any free web hosting service available?

I always suggest them not to go with the free web hosting until they are testing or learning WordPress. Free web hosting is not recommended for serious blogging.

I’ve also seen beginners purchase cheap hosting to save money but later they decide to move from there because of POOR Performance.

Siteground is not an expensive web hosting service, you can host your website as low as $3.95/mo.

They have specialized hosting plans for WordPress users which enhanced the functionality and features for WordPress websites.

Here are the Siteground hosting plans:

Siteground Pricing

Which Siteground Plan Is Good For You?

It totally depends on your need, if you are just starting your first WordPress site then Siteground Startup plan is good for you.

It is the cheapest plan where you are allowed to host only one website and 10GB Webspace with the Free SSL and Email.

In the Startup plan, you are limited to 10,000 visits monthly, when your website starts receiving more than this you will have to upgrade your plan.

Almost all the features are the same in each plan except the webspace, websites you can host and the monthly visits.

You will get these features in all plans of Siteground hosting:

  • Free Unlimited emails
  • Free Unlimited SSL
  • Free CDN
  • Free WP Installation
  • Daily Backup
  • Free CDN
  • WP-CLI and SSH
  • Unlimited Databases
  • Unmetered Traffic

So, you should decide according to no. of the websites you want to host, traffic your website is getting(if it is not new) and the webspace you need.

I recommend you to go with the GrowBig plan, where you can host unlimited websites and 25,000 visits monthly.

If you are moving from your old host to Siteground then I must recommend you to go with the GrowBig or GoGeek plan because you will get Free WordPress migration service by experts.

It will save your time and avoid the risk of breaking the site because your site will be migrated by the experts.

Use the below button to buy the Siteground hosting at best available discounted price.

Buy SiteGround Hosting

SiteGround Security

You might be thinking, does SiteGround provides good security?

Will my website safe on their server?

Well, I want to tell you that the Siteground is the most recommended web hosting provider, even it is recommended by the WordPress.org for the WordPress website hosting.

Their first priority is to protect their servers from the hackers, they maintain a highly specialized security team to address web security threats.

Their team of experts watching security of the servers 24/7, if anyhow, a website got hacked in their server, they use a technology to prevent all other websites hosted on the same server from being hacked.

They allow all websites to use the latest version of PHP 7 with the latest security fixes.  You will be provided with the easy hassle-free auto-updates for the WordPress core and plugins.

SiteGround has real-time server health checks where their system checks server status every 0.5 sec to detects and fix the issues.

You don’t need to worry, your website will be safe with the SiteGround hosting.


SiteGround Uptime Stats

Having a reliable uptime keeps visitors happy, you will not lose your traffic just because your website is down.

Siteground uptime is average of 99.99% for the last 12-month comparison.

Here is the uptime of Siteground hosting for the last 12-months, thanks to Hostingfacts for monitoring Siteground uptime:

  • February 2020 average uptime: 99.98%
  • January 2020 average uptime: 99.92%
  • December 2019 average uptime: 100%
  • November 2019 average uptime: 100%
  • October 2019 average uptime: 100%
  • September 2019 average uptime: 99.99%
  • August 2019 average uptime: 99.99%
  • July 2019 average uptime: 99.98%
  • June 2019 average uptime: 99.99%
  • May 2019 average uptime: 99.98%
  • April 2019 average uptime: 100%
  • March 2019 average uptime: 99.99%
  • February 2019 average uptime: 100%
Siteground Uptime Stats

SiteGround Support

Support is very important because not everyone is a technical guy and experts in troubleshooting WordPress issues.

Right?

The web hosting you are going to use should provide a good and reliable support system for their customers.

More than a good support system, their support system should be FAST. Because you can’t wait for days to get a reply from your hosting support team.

This is where live chat and 24/7 phone call support system comes.

Siteground is having an amazing team of experts who are always ready to provide support to their customers whatever issue they are suffering from.

They are ready 24/7 to support their customers to solve their website-related issues, by phone calls, live chats, support tickets etc.

Their team is expert to solve WordPress related issues.

Siteground support system

Even I contacted them many times when I was not able to resolve the issue myself. Every time I got solutions from their team without having to wait for long-time.

WordPress issues resolved my Siteground support team

I can say Siteground support is amazing, fast, reliable and have expertise in WordPress issues.


Pros Of SiteGround Hosting

SiteGround is a feature-right web hosting provider for WordPress. It offers everything that you need to host your WordPress blog smoothly.

Here are the reasons why SiteGround hosting is the most popular web hosting provider.

#1. Reliable Uptime

SiteGround offers 99.99% average uptime which I already showed you above in the monitoring the 12-months SiteGround uptime.

Uptime matters a lot, you will not like when visitors will see your website down when they try to visit your website.

You are losing the traffic that should be yours but you lost because your website is down because of the hosting.

#2. Helps In Improving Loading Speed

SiteGround has its own in-house built a caching system named Super Cacher which provides a various layer of caching which helps in improving loading speed.

And apart from this, they offer a cache plugin named SG Optimizer which is only for SiteGround hosting users.

SG Optimizer is not less than any premium caching plugin like WP Rocket and premium version of W3 Total Cache.

#3 Free Migration For 1 Website

If you are moving from another hosting provider to SiteGround and if you are not much technical to do the migration yourself then you don’t need to be worry…

Because SiteGround offers FREE Migration for 1 website, their experts will handle the migration work and you will be allowed to check the final migrated site before making your site live on Siteground.

I personally used their migration service and I can say it is very secure and time-saving.

FREE WP Migration service is not available for the SiteGround StartUp plan users, you should buy their GoGeek or GrowBig plan to get this free migration service.

But they have created a plugin named SiteGround Migrator that makes migration to SiteGround easy.

SiteGround Migrator

You can use SiteGround Migrator plugin to migrate your other websites than the one you will use the SiteGround Free migration service.

#4. Unlimited Free SSL Certificates

Google Chrome started showing a red warning screen to the websites which don’t have SSL added which prevent visitor to access the website.

You might not be much technical to add SSL to your website by your hands, then you have to pay to a developer to add SSL to your website.

But SiteGround makes it very easy, you can add SSL to your website by just simple clicks.

SiteGround offers unlimited FREE SSL Certificates, you can use their simple SSL Manager to add SSL to your website.

SiteGround SSL Manager

#5. Free Unlimited Email

Having a custom business email address looks more professional rather than having an email from Gmail, Yahoo or HotMail.

You will need to pay for the business email if you want to have one for your blog.

But SiteGround offers unlimited FREE emails to their customers which will eliminate the need of paying extra money for business email.

SiteGround Business Emails

#6 Free CDN Through Cloudflare

CDN(Content Delivery Network) helps in improving the loading speed of a website, it stores website files on many servers on different locations, when visitors visit your website the closest server will help them to access your website FAST.

CDN helps in improving the website loading speed. If you want to know more about the Content Delivery Network then click here…

SiteGround offers free CDN through Cloudflare which is the best CDN provider and it’s free also.

SiteGround CDN integration

You can start using the CDN for your WordPress blog directly from SiteGround’s Control Panel.

#7. Free Daily Backup

Imagine, someday you wake up in the morning and opened your laptop to visit your blog and what you saw made you shocked!

Your website isn’t loading or it’s been hacked!

And the scariest thing is, you don’t have any backup. You now lost your blog and all your hard work has gone ruin.

This is why taking backup of blog regularly is recommended to avoid any situation similar to this.

But you don’t have to worry if your blog is hosted with the SiteGround because they offer FREE daily backups.

SiteGround also offers On-demand Backup which is available only in the GrowBig and GoGeek plans.

#8. Excellent Support System

Again, not everyone is good at doing technical tasks…

Having a web hosting which has a good support system that always ready to solve your website related issues.

And SiteGround has an excellent support system, they have a team of WordPress experts that are always ready to help you in fixing your website related issues.

They helped me many times in solving my WordPress issues when I was not able to solve them. I can easily contact them via live chat without waiting for any minute, they provide 24/7 support via live chat, email tickets, phone etc.

SiteGround Support

#9. 30 Days Money Back Guarantee

SiteGround offers 30 days money-back guarantee that allows you to get a full refund in case if you don’t like their services.

You can ask for a full refund within 30 days of purchase of their shared hosting plans.

In comparison, SiteGround other hosting plans like VPS, Cloud Hosting and Dedicated Server hosting offers only 15 days money-back guarantee.

Refund will be allowed to the new customers only, you will not get the refund on renewals. You can know more about SiteGround refund policy here…


Cons Of SiteGround Hosting

Everything has both sides, good and bad…

SiteGround also has some cons along with the pros.

This is not a biased SiteGround review which I getting paid for, rather it is based on my experience after using SiteGround hosting personally for my blogs.

So, here are the downside of SiteGround that I came to know after using it…

#1. High Renewal Charges

SiteGround is also following the same TRICK as other companies for marketing…

Offering cheap in starting to attract customers by their services and they charge high at renewals.

SiteGround is charging less for the first year but when you renew your hosting plan, you will have to pay more than what you paid for the first year.

For example, their StartUp plan which cost you $3.95/mo but when you renew the same plan, the price will jump to $11.95, which is almost 3x.

#2. No Free Domain

Isn’t it great when you get FREE domain along with the purchase of web hosting?

It is, RIGHT!

Some web hosting companies like Bluehost offer free a domain for the 1st year with their hosting plans. It is good especially for the beginners who are going to start their first blog from SCRATCH.

But you will not get this offer by SiteGround.

For purchasing domains, I personally use and highly recommend others to buy from NameCheap, you can buy a new domain or transfer your domain at a cheap price.

#3 Extra Setup Fees For Monthly Billing

Not all web hosting companies offer a monthly billing option, but the great news is SiteGround does.

You can try their services for one month by spending some bucks. But the downside is…

You will have to pay the price of the plan + $14.95 setup fees for one-time setup. And as I discuss in the 1st point that you will be charged high renewal charges from SiteGround when you renew your plan.

The same thing will happen to you when you renew after using for one month. You already charged with a one-time setup fee and again you will be charged with the high renewal charges.

SiteGround Review 2020: Why It Is The Best Fit For You!

SiteGround Reviews By Top Bloggers & SiteGround Users

SiteGround is the best WordPress hosting, not only I say this.

Rather other bloggers have also the same words for the SiteGround hosting. They have also used this for hosting their blogs and recommending others to choose SiteGround.

Here are the SiteGround reviews by the top bloggers and SiteGround hosting users:

Harsh Agrawal

Siteground is currently the top WordPress hosting. They are designed for speed, and their inhouse caching plugin is comparable to any premium cache plugin. The support is outstanding, and is complete value for money.

Harsh Agrawal

Founder @ ShoutMeLoud

Anil Agarwal

I’ve been using SiteGround for several years now and it’s one of my favorite web hosts.
There are a couple of reasons I love SiteGround including;

• Affordable pricing (their pricing starts at just $3.95 per month which is affordable to almost everyone)
• Excellent security (they provide a ton of features to secure your sites including offering free SSL and by default, they set all servers to use the latest PHP 7 version with the latest security fixes)
• Superior hosting features (such as free CDN, free daily backups, free WP installation, free site transfers etc)

All in all, SiteGround is the BEST web hosting choice if you’re looking for an affordable yet super-fast web hosting provider.

Anil Agarwal

Founder @ BloggersPassion

Santanu Debnath

SiteGround is the only shared hosting company who offers amazing SPEED, high Security & awesome Support for their customers. Yes, with a very affordable price tag you can get SSD servers, Free Daily Backup, Free SSL Certificate, Free Website transfer, 3 Layer of Advanced server side cache system and many more premium features. I am using their hosting from last 1 year and happily recommend them as the # Best WordPress Hosting for Bloggers.

Santanu Debnath

Founder @ BloggingJoy

Bishnu Mahali

SiteGround changed the game for me. I’m so satisfied with its uptime. And obviously it helped me grow my business with its faster loading time. I highly recommend this hosting if you are getting started.

Bishnu Mahali

Founder @ BloggerSelf

Umer Qureshi

SiteGround hosting for me is the No.1 hosting because the service they are providing at this price is actually affordable and the speed of SiteGround literally stunned me that’s why I’m using it on my all blogs.

Umer Qureshi

Founder @ GuideBlogging

SiteGround Review 2020: Why It Is The Best Fit For You!

I love SiteGround because of their lightning-fast support. They provide a high level of security and amazing site speed. If you are looking for the best web hosting company at an affordable price then you should purchase the SiteGround hosting.

Sumit Sao

Founder @ BloggingLift

Ramesh Rawat

If you are looking for reliable and fast web hosting with amazing customer support, then I would say SiteGround is a perfect choice for you. I personally used it and I never face any issues.

Ramesh Rawat

Founder @ BloggingAsk


FAQ About SiteGround

Is SiteGround good for beginners?

Definitely Yes, SiteGround is a good fit for the beginners who are going to start their first WordPress blog. SiteGround provides amazing features at an affordable price, you can use the best web hosting just by paying approx 50$ for one year.

How much does SiteGround cost?

SiteGround offers three shared hosting plans, StartUp, GrowBig and GoGeek their pricing starts from $3.95/mo, $5.95/mo and $11.95/mo respectively.

Does SiteGround offer free domain?

No, SiteGround doesn’t offer any FREE Domain along with the hosting purchase. You can buy a domain from domain registrars like NameCheap, GoDaddy etc.

Does SiteGround charge monthly?

Yes, SiteGround offer monthly billing but they also charge one-time setup fees of 14.95$. For example, if you are going to buy their StartUp plan for one month then you will have to pay $3.95(plan cost) + $14.95(setup fees).

Where SiteGround servers are located?

Their servers are located in four different countries Chicago (United States), London (United Kingdom), Amsterdam (Netherlands) and Singapore. In addition, they provide Cloudflare CDN that expands its network to over 150 nodes in cities in the world.

Which SiteGround plan should I choose?

I highly recommend you to buy the GrowBig plan of SiteGround because, in that, you are allowed to host unlimited websites. So, you will not need to buy hosting again or upgrade your plan if in future you want to start more blogs/websites.

This plan is also good for you if you are migrating from another host because they provide 1 Website FREE Migration which you will not get in their StartUp plan.

Will SiteGround help in improving my website loading speed?

Absolutely Yes, they provide various level of caching by their in-house built technology “Super Cacher” which will definitely help in improving loading speed.

Apart from this, they offer a cache plugin named “SG Optimizer” especially for the Siteground users which is not less than any premium caching plugin.


My Verdict

SiteGround is the best ever web hosting I used in my blogging journey so far, as I have used many web hostings but not a single is as good as SiteGround is.

SiteGround cut-off other tasks like taking backup manually which I was doing when I was using DigitalOcean, now SiteGround is taking care of this by their Daily Backup service.

Now I don’t need to spend some extra bucks on email because I got it with SiteGround hosting and I can create as many emails I want for my domain.

SiteGround is a quite affordable web hosting for the beginners also because they can host their blog on best WordPress hosting just in less than 50$ for one year.

However, I highly recommend you to go with their GrowBig plan because it allows you to host unlimited websites so in future if you want to start more blogs that you will not need to spend money to buy hosting again.

You can buy any of SiteGround plan using this link to get the best available discount. And if you are going to buy SiteGround in November month(during Black Friday and Cyber Monday) then I must recommend you to check out our SiteGround Black Friday Deal page to save HUGE money.

Below is the short summary of this SiteGround review…

SiteGround Review

by Ravi Dixit

Performance
Pricing
Uptime
Support

Summary

As I have used multiple web hosting providers in my journey, I can say the SiteGround is the best from all of them. It helped me to improve the loading speed of my blog and also cut-off the other task like taking backup which it does itself.

4.8

You are also allowed to share your SiteGround review by dropping comments below. I would like to know about your experience with the SiteGround hosting whether it’s Good or Bad.

Here are some other article you may want to read:

SiteGround review 2020 (1)

🙏 One Humble Request!

I’ve put a lot of effort and done lots of research in writing this post to provide value to our blogging community. I will be glad if you share this post on social media. Sharing is caring 🤗

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on telegram
Share on pinterest
Ravi Dixit

Ravi Dixit is a Blogger and Affiliate Marketer, He is the founder of StayMeOnline Who Loves to help others. Travelling and learning new things online are his first love. "I only want a life without any boundaries- Ravi Dixit"


Affiliate Disclosure: Some of the links on this page are affiliate links. If you buy any product using an affiliate link placed on this blog, it will not add any extra cost in the total price of the product rather I will get some commission from the company. This will show me 💖 from your side, for more details read this...

Join Community Of Like-Minded People

StayMeOnline Community For Bloggers (2)

13 thoughts on “SiteGround Review 2020: Why It Is The Best Fit For You!”

  1. Hey Ravi

    Amazing and detailed review brother. You shared everything very smoothly and, yes, Siteground is the best hosting for many reasons.

    Even I have purchased Siteground hosting for 3 years back in November.

    And it is worth for the single penny.

    Cheers

    Reply
  2. Hi Ravi,

    Great Post! Thank you so much for sharing this informative article on Siteground Review. I am pretty impressed with this hosting and also the content you have provided in this indepth article. Keep up the good Work…

    Cheers,
    Abhay

    Reply
    • Hey, Abhay!

      Yes, SiteGround is amazing when it comes to affordable and fast web hosting for WordPress sites.

      I am glad that you found the content useful.

      Keep Rocking…

      Reply
  3. I was thinking about which hosting should I buy for my website. After reading this article I came to know that SiteGround hosting will be perfect for my blogs because the service they are providing at this price is actually very affordable and the speed of SiteGround literally seems to be amazing as many of the users said. So even I will buy it now. Thank You so much.

    Reply
  4. Hey Ravi,

    I want to start my freelance writing business. Right now, I am on a low budget.. I don’t know whether I will be able to get projects or not.

    SiteGround doesn’t offer a free domain name. If I buy a domain name from somewhere else, I will have to spend $10-$15 more.

    I have read an article here about HostGator and GoDaddy:(link removed)

    In that article, I read that HostGator offers a free domain name. Should I go for HostGator? Would that be a better alternative for me?

    Please help!

    Reply
    • Yes, SiteGround doesn’t offer a free domain but its services are amazing, you can easily get a domain at cheap price from NameCheap.

      Otherwise, Bluehost and Hostgator are good if you want a free domain.

      Reply

Leave a Comment

226 Shares
226 Shares
Share via
Copy link